Forexfix FAQ

Who can use Forexfix?

Forexfix was developed for general and financial managers as well as accountants of small and medium sized enterprises. Via the Forexfix platform, you can carry out foreign currency payment transactions at better rates than via traditional banks. At the same time, you protect yourself from currency fluctuations (via hedging transactions)

  • All EU Member States: Austria, Belgium, Bulgaria, Croatia, Cyprus, the Czech Republic, Denmark, Estonia, Finland, France, Germany, Greece, Hungary, Ireland, Italy, Latvia, Lithuania, Luxembourg, Malta, the Netherlands, Poland, Portugal, Romania, Slovakia, Slovenia, Spain, Sweden, United Kingdom & Northern Ireland, United Kingdom, United Kingdom, United Kingdom, United Kingdom,
  • Other countries: Australia, Canada, China, Hong Kong, India, Iceland, Israel, Japan, Liechtenstein, New Zealand, Norway, Singapore, South Africa, South Korea, Switzerland, Taiwan, USA
Companies from the above-mentioned countries can use Forexfix to send payments to almost 200 countries worldwide - without minimum or limits.

Private individuals can use Forexfix from a transaction volume of at least 10,000 euros per year.

Who is Forexfix?

Forexfix is a Berlin-based Fintech Startup. Forexfix was founded in 2016 by a team of highly experienced bankers and developers. The executive management has gained experience for more than 30 years within large companies like the KfW bank, the management consultancy McKinsey and the financial provider Hypoport. For further information, click here

Which documents do I need for the registration of Forexfix?

For the registration process, all you need to do is scan both sides of your passport and upload them on our website. We take care of the rest of the required documents (in most cases this includes a proof of address, a company registry extract and a credit check) - from your side, no further action is needed.

How much does the registration and verification at Forefix cost?

The registration and verification process is completely free of charge.

Do I need a LEI number for exchange rate hedging?

Unlike banks, Forexfix does not require a LEI number for exchange rate hedging. "("legal entity identifier"). This saves you the time-consuming, complicated and costly application for a LEI. With Forexfix you do not need a LEI, as the processing is carried out by our partner Currencycloud Ltd. in Great Britain and this is not necessary according to the legal requirements there.

How long does it take to register and get verified?

We take the customer verification process and existing anti-money laundering laws very seriously, so the approval process takes between 1-5 days.

How can I use my Forefix account?

Once the registration process is completed, you will receive an email-confirmation. You will now have access to your account.

Are there limits per transaction?

For security reasons, we set a limit of 100,000.00 EUR per transaction for all registered accounts. Client admins (for example managing directors) can independently set separate limits for other users of those client accounts (such as account managers).
In order to increase the limit per transaction please send a short, informal email to our support team including the desired limit.

How can I delete my Forexfix account?

If you are not satisfied with us anymore, just send us a formless notice via email.

How exactly does Forexfix handle the hedge of currency rate risks?

Forexfix offers direct transfers, as well as hedging exchange rates in the future. Currently, in most cases, those are forward exchange transactions.

How do I incorporate foreign currencies bought through Forexfix in my annual statements?

Forexfix sends a confirmation of balance to every customer at the end of each year, so that they can incorporate purchased (but not yet disbursed) foreign currencies or forwards contracts scheduled for the next year into their annual statements.

What costs will I be facing as a customer?

In general all costs are included in the transaction price - along with our commission. The markup on top of the mid-market rate varies between 0.1 and 0.5 %, making Forexfix significantly less expensive than other providers.

Is there a minimum sum or a minimum amount per transaction?

No, unlike other financial service providers we do not require a minimum sum per transaction. As well, there are no guidelines regarding the amount of transactions. With Forexfix you transfer or hedge only the specific sum you need.

What happens if the hedged rate is below the future market rate?

Our mission is to protect enterprises from currency rate fluctuations. We want to provide our customers with a stable and foreseeable cash flow, as far as foreign currencies are concerned, and are not a platform for speculative activities. This is why, when booking forwards, the hedged rates remain regardless of market movements.

What is the difference between wire and ACH payments to the US?

In the US some banks use two different systems to receive money, ACH for national payments and wire for international payments, and some banks have separate routing numbers for these systems. Forexfix sends funds always through the ACH system and the corresponding routing numbers, as far as this is possible.

How long does a transaction via Forexfix take?

The exact transaction time depends on the country and bank account of the receiver. Past experience shows that it takes between 1-3 days until the transaction is booked on the account of the beneficiary.

How can I release the payment to Forexfix?

You can choose between 2 different methods to release the payment:
Payment release directly from the Forexfix Account: Via your Forexfix account you have access to your online banking system (only for DACH customers). With a few clicks you can trigger the payment - there is no need to leave the Forexfix account. To this, just click on the button "Pay now".
SEPA bank transfer: Alternatively, you can make the transfer in a separate step, in your online banking account. Under the menu "account information" "open orders" you have access to the bank account details of the partner bank.

What information do you need regarding the receiver’s bank account?

We need to know the name of the recipient of the payment so that we know which bank account the payment will be transferred to. The exact requirements depend on the guidelines of the country to which the money will be transferred. Regarding this, please check the specific requirements under the point "order overview."

Which currencies are available at Forefix?

Currently we offer payments in 30+ currencies to 100+ countries. Below all offered currencies:
Australian Dollar
Bahrain-Dinar
British Pound
Bulgarian Lev
Canadian Dollar
Czech Crown
Chinese Yuan
Croatian Kuna
Danish Krone
Euro
Hongkong Dollar
Israeli Shekel
Japanese Yen
Kenyan Shilling
Kuwait-Dinar
Mexican Peso
New Zealand Dollar
Norwegian Krone
Omani Rial
Polish Zloty
Romanian Leu
Saudi Arabian Rial
Singapore Dollar
Schwedish Krone
South African Rand
Swiss Franc
Thai Bhat
Turkish Lira
Ugandan Shilling
Ungarian Forint
US-Dollar
VAE Dirham
Qatar Riyal

Can I transfer US Dollars to China?

Yes! Via Forexfix you can send US Dollars to accounts in China without any limits or restrictions.

To which countries can Forexfix not yet transfer money?

Due to regulatory reasons Forefix can not transfer money to the countries and regions listed below:
Crimea
Cuba
Iran
North Korea
Liberia
Libya
South Sudan
Sudan
Syria
We ask Forexfix customers to refrain from attempting even indirect payments (through third party countries) to the above countries and regions.

What costs will I be facing when I have to cancel an order?

In exceptional cases we can cancel transactions posted in the past. On this occasion you have to bear the cost of the difference of the currency fluctuations between the time when placing and canceling the offer. Those costs only occur if the price movements are against your pay-in currency.

Within which timeline can I cancel my order?

In exceptional cases you can cancel your order, but only before the final payment is done.

What if I have to change the date for a future transaction?

In certain cases it is possible to change the date of posted future transactions. In this case, the difference between the market rate for the old and the new date has to be paid by the customer, in case this has worsened.

How does Forefix cooperate with partner banks?

We use API technology to integrate partner banks. This allows us to publish the most current currency rates. Our algorithm chooses the best alternative depending on the sum, the currency pair, the timeline and the financial product.
At the moment, all transactions are routed via Currencycloud. For further information click here.

What exactly is API-Banking and what are the advantages?

Thanks to the use of API (application programming interface) we are able to provide faster access to a third party data bases. This ensures a cost-effective process and a fully automised booking with several partner banks in order to offer competitive products.
For further information regarding APIs, click on the link provided here.

Can I integrate Forexfix in the internal ERP or accounting system of my company?

Currently we are working on several integrations. If you are interested in API access from Forexfix, please contact us.

How does Forexfix guarantee the safekeeping of my funds?

Funds kept in Forexfix for forward contracts are handled by our payment engine (01.03: Currencyloud Ltd) and stored in separate accounts. This gives you assurance that your money is safe in the unlikely event of an insolvency or liquidation of Forexfix.

Which regulatory requirements is Forexfix subjected to?

Forexfix cooperates exclusively with European regulated financial institutions. Because we do not manage client’s money ourselves, but only handle the relationship between the customer and the partner financial institution, we are not required to have our own license.
For further information regarding our regulations, click here.

Which terms and conditions are subjected to the use of Forexfix?

Our clients accept the terms and conditions when registering at Forexfix. The terms and conditions that you accept are those from the payment engine Currencycloud. Outside of the registration process, these are also available on the Currencycloud website.

What is the regulatory setup and what does the relationship with Currencycloud mean?

The service is provided by The Currencycloud Limited, The Steward Building, 12 Steward Street, London, E1 6FQ, Great Britain. The Currencycloud Limited possesses a Financial Conduct Authority license. That means that they are authorised to provide payment services under FCA registration number 900199. Forexfix GmbH is contractually bounded with The Currencycloud Limited but does not possess an independent license.
Forexfix GmbH is registered in the commercial register of Charlottenburg under the number HRB 184521 B. It was founded in February 2017. The managing directors are Robert Kröber, Gerhard Maringer and Jonathan Loesing. The shareholders are the managing directors itself and a group of experienced investors. Further information is provided here.

How does the Forefix Referral-Program work?

When recommending Forefix to other companies, you will receive a little gift as a "Thank you". Regarding to this, there are several options - just contact us to get more information.

Who takes on the responsibility for the federal bank regarding the reporting obligation?

Each payment that goes to a foreign country exceeding 12500 EUR has to be reported to the German Federal Bank. According to official law, the responsibility to do so remains on the customer, however, banks often take the responsibility for that already.
Forexfix does not get involved in this process - but this often not necessary, due to the fact that the completion of foreign payments and hedges is handled by accounts in London. That means, that as a first step all of the payments will be transferred from Germany to England. Consequently as a first step all the payments going from Germany to England are reported by German banks as foreign payment transactions.
If you would like Forexfix to take care of these reports, please write us a message under support@forexfix.de

Who can I contact if I have further questions?

Feel free to contact our customer service any time at support@forexfix.de or use the live chat on www.forexfix.de

Can I reach Forexfix as well via phone?

Yes, you can reach us during our office times from 9:00 am to 7:00 pm under the following number +49 30 1208 3151.

Free sign up

Forexfix FAQ

Für wen ist Forexfix?

Forexfix wurde entwickelt für die Geschäftsführung, Finanzleitung bzw. Buchhaltung kleiner und mittelständischer Unternehmen. Über die Forexfix-Plattform können Unternehmen günstiger und einfacher als über traditionelle Banken Auslandszahlungen vornehmen, und sich vor Wechselkursschwankungen (über Kurssicherungen) schützen.

Wer ist Forexfix?

Forexfix ist ein Fintech Startup aus Berlin. Forexfix wurde 2016 aus einem erfahrenen Team aus Bankern und Entwicklern gegründet. Die Geschäftsführung hat insgesamt über 30 Jahre Erfahrung in großen Unternehmen wie der KfW Bank, der Unternehmenberatung McKinsey und dem Finanzdienstleister Hypoport gesammelt. Mehr Infos zum Unternehmen finden Sie hier.

Welche Dokumente benötige ich für die Registrierung bei Forexfix?

Für die Registrierung benötigen Sie lediglich einen beidseitigen Scan Ihres Personalausweises. Wir besorgen uns alle anderen regulatorisch notwendigen Dokumente im Hintergrund (in den meisten Fällen sind die Handelsregisterauszug, Melderegisterauskunft und Bonitätsauskunft) - sie müssen nichts weiter tun.

Was kostet die Registrierung bzw. Verifizierung bei Forexfix?

Die Registrierung und Verifizierung bei Forexfix ist für Sie vollkommen kostenfrei.

Wie lange kann der Registrierungs- und Verifizierungsprozess dauern?

Wir nehmen es mit der Überprüfung unserer Kunden und der geltenden Anti-Geldwäsche-Gesetze sehr genau. Der gesamte Prüfungsprozess kann zwischen 1-5 Tagen dauern.

Wann kann ich meinen Forexfix Account nutzen?

Sobald die Registrierung abgeschlossen ist werden Sie von uns per Email benachrichtigt. Ab dann können Sie Ihren Account rund um die Uhr nutzen.

Gibt es Limits pro Transaktion?

Aus Sicherheitsgründen richten wir für jeden neu registrierten Account ein Limit von EUR 100.000,00 pro Transaktion ein. Davon unabhängig können Admins (z.B. Geschäftsführer) für User der Unternehmensaccounts (z.B. die Buchhaltung) separate Limits setzen.
Wenn Sie das Limit pro Transaktion erhöhren wollen, schreiben Sei bitte eine kurze, formlose Email an unseren Support mit dem gewünschten Limit.

Wie kann ich meinen Forexfix Account wieder löschen?

Sollten Sie nicht mehr zufrieden mit uns sein, benötigen wir zur Auflösung der Geschäftsbeziehung ein formloses Kündigungsschreiben, dass auch gerne per Email eingehen kann.

Wie genau funktioniert die Absicherung durch Forexfix?

Forexfix bietet sowohl direkte Transfers, als auch die Absicherung von Wechselkursen in die Zukunft an. Letzteres wird durch Finanzprodukte von Partnerbanken ermöglicht. In den allermeisten Fällen sind dies derzeit sogenannte Devisentermingeschäfte.

Wie führe ich meine bei Forexfix gekauften Devisen im Jahresabschluss auf?

Kunden erhalten von Forexfix am Ende des Jahres eine Saldenbestätigung, sodass Sie gekaufte (aber noch nicht an Zahlungsempfänger ausbezahlte) Devisen bzw. Devisentermingeschäfte mit Fälligkeit im neuen Jahr in Ihrer Bilanz aufführen können.

Welche Kosten kommen auf mich als Kunde zu?

Grundsätzlich sind alle Kosten im Preis der Transaktion inbegriffen, inkl. unserer Provision. Dabei summieren sich alle Kosten vom Midmarket-Kurs ausgehend bei uns zwischen 0,1% und 0,5%, womit wir deutlich günstiger sind als andere Anbieter.

Gibt es eine Mindestsumme oder Mindestanzahl für Transaktionen?

Nein, anders als viele Finanzdienstleister fordern wir von Ihnen keine Mindestsumme die pro Transaktion von uns abgesichert wird. Auch geben wir Ihnen keinerlei Vorgaben hinsichtlich der Anzahl Ihrer Transaktionen. Bei uns transferieren oder sichern Sie nur die Summe ab, die Sie wirklich benötigen.

Was passiert wenn der festgelegte Kurs "schlechter" ist als der Marktkurs?

Unsere Mission ist es, Unternehmen vor Wechselkursschwankungen zu schützen. Wir möchten Ihnen als Unternehmer einen stabilen und planbaren Zahlungsstrom gewährleisten, und sind keine Plattform für spekulative Geschäft. Daher gilt bei Devisentermingeschäften der festgelegte Kurs unabhängig von Marktbewegungen.

Was ist der Unterschied zwischen Wire und ACH Daten für Überweisungen in die USA?

In den USA verwenden einige Banken zwei verschiedene Systeme um Geld zu empfangen, ACH für nationale Überweisungen und Wire für internationale Überweisungen, und diese Systeme haben bei einigen Banken unterschiedliche Routing-Nummern. Forexfix schickt Geld soweit möglich immer über das ACH System und die entsprechenden Routing-Nummern.

Wie lange dauert eine Transaktion über Forexfix?

Die genaue Dauer einer Transaktion hängt davon ab, in welchem Land und bei welcher Bank das Empfängerkonto liegt. Bisherige Erfahrungen zeigen, dass die Transaktionssumme innerhalb von 1 - 3 Tagen auf dem Konto des Zahlungsempfängers verbucht wird.

Wie kann ich meine Zahlung an Forexfix tätigen?

Derzeit können Sie zwischen zwei Methoden wählen, um Zahlungen durchzuführen:
Zahlungsauslösung aus Forexfix-Account: Sie können aus Ihrem Forexfix-Konto nahtlos auf Ihr Online-Banking zugreifen, und mit wenigen Klicks Zahlungen auslösen, ohne Ihren Forexfix-Account zu verlassen. Klicken Sie dazu in Ihrem Account einfach auf "Sofort bezahlen".
Separate SEPA-Banküberweisung: Sie können alternative in einem zweiten separaten Schritt eine Überweisung von Ihrem Bankkonto tätigen. Bitte entnehmen Sie die genauen Bankdetails (IBAN und BIC) der jeweils ausführenden Partnerbank dem Menüpunkt “Kontoinformationen” unter "Offene Aufträge".

Welche Bankdaten des Empfängers sind für eine Überweisung nötig?

Bitte teilen Sie uns den begünstigten “Zahlungsempfänger” mit, damit wir wissen auf welches Bankkonto der Fremdwährungsbetrag überwiesen werden soll. Die genauen Vorgaben orientieren sich an den jeweiligen Ländern, in die die Überweisung geht. Prüfen Sie daher bitte die Bedingungen des Empfängers unter “Auftragsübersicht”.

Welche Währungen sind bei Forexfix verfügbar?

Aktuell bieten wir Zahlungen in 30+ Währungen in über 100+ Länder an. Die angebotenen Währungen sind folgende:
Australischer Dollar
Bahrain-Dinar
Britischer Pfund
Bulgarischer Lew
Kanadischer Dollar
Chinesischer Yuan
Dänische Krone
Euro
Hongkong Dollar
Israelischer Schekel
Japanischer Yen
Katar Riyal
Kenia-Schilling
Kroatische KunaKuwait-Dinar
Mexikanischer Peso
Neuseeland Dollar
Norwegische Kronen
Omanischer Rial
Polnischer Zloty
Rumänischer Leu
Singapur Dollar
Schweizer Franken
Saudi Arabischer Rial
Schwedische Kronen
Südafrikanischer Rand
Tschechische Krone
Thailändischer Bhat
Türkische Lira
Uganda-Schilling
Ungarischer Forint
US-Dollar
VAE Dirham

Kann ich US-Dollar auch nach China schicken?

Wir können für Sie auch unbegrenzt USD-Zahlungen auf Bankkonten in China durchführen.

In welche Länder kann Forexfix nicht Geld überweisen?

Aus regulatorischen Gründen kann Forexfix grundsätzlich keine Zahlungen in folgende Länder und Gebiete durchführen:
Krim
Kuba
Iran
Nordkorea
Liberia
Libyen
Südsudan
Sudan
Syrien

Welche Kosten kommen auf mich zu wenn ich einen Auftrag stornieren muss?

In Ausnahmefällen können gebuchte Transaktionen storniert werden. Hierbei müssen Sie die durch Marktbewegungen zwischen den beiden Währungen entstandene Differenz bezahlen, die in dem Zeitraum zwischen Auftragserstellung und Stornierung angefallen sind. Diese Kosten fallen nur an, falls der Markt sich gegen Ihre Einzahlungs-Währung bewegt hat.

Wie lange nach Auftragserteilung ist eine Stornierung möglich?

Eine Stornierung ist in Ausnahmefällen möglich, allerdings nur bevor die endgültige Zahlung ausgeführt wurde.

Was ist wenn ich das Datum für eine zukünftige Transaktion ändern muss?

Es ist möglich in Einzelfällen das Datum für gebuchte zukünftige Transaktionen zu ändern. Dabei fallen als Kosten ggf. die Differenz zwischen den Marktpreisen für den alten und den neuen Termin, falls sich diese verschlechtert haben.

Wie arbeitet Forexfix mit Partnerbanken zusammen?

Für die Integration von Partnerbanken nutzen wir die sogenannte API Technologie. Dadurch können wir Ihnen aktuellere Kurse anzeigen und mit Hilfe eines Algorithmus je nach Summe, Währungspaar, Zeitraum und benötigtem Finanzprodukt die entsprechend günstigste Alternative auswählen.
Derzeit laufen alle Transaktionen über Currencycloud - mehr dazu hier.

Was ist API-Banking und wofür ist es gut?

Mit Hilfe von API (application programming interface) sind wir in der Lage einen schnelleren Zugriff auf Datenbanken einer zweiten Anwendung zu ermöglichen.
Dadurch können wir kostengünstiger und vollautomatisiert mit mehreren Partnerbanken zusammenarbeiten, um Ihnen wettbewerbsfähigere Produkte anzubieten.
Mehr Informationen dazu wie wir APIs verwenden, finden Sie hier.

Ist es möglich Forexfix in mein unternehmensinternes ERP -oder Accounting-System zu integrieren?

Wir arbeiten derzeit an verschiedenen Integrationen. Sollten Sie Interesse daran haben, dass Forexfix für Sie passende Schnittstellen entwickelt, sprechen Sie uns bitte an.

Wie garantiert Forexfix die Sicherheit meines Geldes?

Das Geld, welches Sie bei Forexfix für Devisentermingeschäfte einzahlen, wird von unserem Abwicklungspartner (Stand: 01.03.: Currencycloud Ltd) separat vom Bilanzvermögen auf einem Anderkonto gehalten. Dies gibt Ihnen die Sicherheit, dass hinterlegtes Geld im Falle einer Insolvenz und Abwicklung von Forexfix sicher ist.

Welchen regulatorischen Anforderungen unterliegt Forexfix?

Forexfix arbeitet ausschließlich mit europäischen, regulierten Finanzinstituten zusammen. Da wir selbst keine Kundengelder verwalten, sondern derzeit nur die Beziehung zwischen Kunden und Partnerbank herstellen, müssen wir derzeit noch keine eigene Lizenz haben.
Mehr Information zu Regulatorik finden Sie hier.

Welchen Geschäftsbedingungen unterliegt die Nutzung von Forexfix?

Die Geschäftsbedingungen werden von Kunden im Zuge der Registrierung bei Forexfix akzeptiert. Die Geschäftsbedingungen, die akzeptiert werden, sind die der hinter der Forexfix - Plattform stehenden Payment Engine Currencycloud. Diese sind ausserhalb der Registrierung auch einsehbar auf der Currencycloud-Webseite.

Wie ist das regulatorische Setup, und was ist die Beziehung zu Currencycloud?

Die Dienstleitung wird erbracht von The Currencycloud Limited, The Steward Building, 12 Steward Street, London, E1 6FQ, Großbritannien. The Currencycloud Limited verfügt über eine Erlaubnis der britischen Finanzaufsicht (Financial Conduct Authority) zur Ausgabe von E-Geld und für die Erbringung von Zahlungsdiensten mit FCA Registrierungsnummer 900199.
Forexfix GmbH ist mit Currencycloud vertraglich gebunden, verfügt jedoch nicht über eine Erlaubnis der Finanzaufsicht. Diese ist wegen der Verbindung zu Currencycloud Ltd nicht erforderlich.

Wie genau funktioniert das Referral-Program von Forexfix?

Wenn Sie uns an andere Unternehmen weiterempfehlen erhalten Sie ein kleines Dankeschön von uns. Hier gibt es verschiedene Wege - kontaktieren Sie uns um mehr zu erfahren!

Wer übernimmt die Meldepflicht gegenüber der Bundesbank?

Wenn eine Zahlung größer als €12500 ist und ins Ausland geht muss diese der Deutschen Bundesbank gemeldet werden. Offiziell liegt diese Pflicht bei der Partei, die die Zahlung tätigt (dem Kunden), allerdings übernehmen Banken dies teilweise für Ihre Kunden.
Forexfix übernimmt diese Meldungen derzeit nicht - dies ist in vielen Fällen nicht nötig, da die Ausführung von Auslandszahlungen und Absicherungen über Forexfix von Konten in London geschieht. Das heißt, dass alle Zahlungen im ersten Schritt von Deutschland nach England gehen, und somit weiterhin von den kontoführenden deutschen Banken (als Auslandszahlungen nach England) gemeldet werden.
Falls Sie möchten, dass Forexfix diese Meldung für Sie übernimmt, schreiben Sie uns gern an support@forexfix.de.

An wen kann ich mich bei weiteren Fragen wenden?

Bitte wenden Sie sich jederzeit an unseren Kundenservice unter support@forexfix.de oder nutzen Sie unser Chatfenster auf www.forexfix.de um direkt mit uns zu kommunizieren.

Kann ich Forexfix auch per Telefon erreichen?

Ja, Sie erreichen uns auch gerne während der Geschäftszeiten von 09.00 bis 19.00 Uhr unter +49 30 1208 3151.

Kostenlos registrieren